Climate Council Members

The members of the Maine Climate Council:


  • Hannah Pingree, Director of the Governor’s Office of Policy Innovation and the Future
  • Melanie Loyzim, Commissioner of the Department of Environmental Protection

Members of the State Legislature:

  • Representative Lydia Blume D-York
  • Representative Jim Thorne, R-Carmel
  • Senator Chloe Maxmin, D-Lincoln
  • Senator David Woodsome, R-York

Members of the Executive Branch, or their designees:

  • Amanda Beal, Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry
  • Dan Burgess, Director of the Governor’s Energy Office
  • Judy Camuso, Commissioner of the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife
  • Major General Doug Farnham, Commissioner of the Department of Defense, Veterans and Emergency Management
  • Kirsten Figueroa, Commissioner of the Department Administrative and Financial Services
    • Designee: Elaine Clarke, Chief Facilities Officer
  • Laura Fortman, Commissioner of the Department of Labor
    • Designee: Kimberly Moore, Director of the Bureau of Employment Services 
  • Heather Johnson, Commissioner of the Department of Economic and Community Development
  • Patrick Keliher, Commissioner of the Department of Marine Resources
  • Pender Makin, Commissioner of the Department of Education
    • Designee: Scott Brown, Director of School Facilities
  • Bruce Van Note, Commissioner of the Department of Transportation
  • Jeanne Lambrew, Commissioner of Department of Health and Human Services
    • Designees: Nirav Shah, Director of the Maine Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; Susan Breau, Hydrogeologist - Water Resources Team Manager, Maine Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Members of Quasi-Government Agencies:

  • Dan Brennan, Executive Director of the Maine State Housing Authority
  • Michael Stoddard, Executive Director of Efficiency Maine Trust

Members Representing Environmental Nonprofit Organizations or Foundations:

  • Alexander Buck, President, Horizon Foundation
  • Kate Dempsey, Maine State Director for The Nature Conservancy

Members with Expertise in Climate Change Science:

  • Ivan Fernandez, Distinguished Professor at the University of Maine’s Climate Change Institute & School of Forest Resources

Members with Expertise in Resilience, Climate Change Adaptation, Emergency Management, or Disaster Risk Reduction:

  • Judy East, Executive Director of the Land Use Planning Commission

Other Members:

  • Jessie Perkins, Executive Director of the Bethel Chamber of Commerce
  • Expert on State’s Energy Sector: Ken Colburn, energy and climate expert
  • Representative of Manufacturing Industry: Benedict Cracolici, Energy Manager for Sappi North America
  • Representative of Maine’s Tribes: Ambassador Maulian Dana, Penobscot Nation
  • Representative of Municipal Government: Steven C. Golieb, Town Councilor for the Town of Millinocket
  • Representative of Small Business: Daniel Kleban, Owner of Maine Beer Company
  • Representative of Agriculture: Melissa Law, Owner of Bumbleroot Organic Farm in Windham
  • Representative of Building and Construction Trades: Matt Marks, Executive Director of the Associated General Contractors of Maine
  • Representative of Marine Fisheries: Patrice McCarron, Executive Director of Maine Lobsterman’s Association
  • Representative of Business: Jeff Saucier, Environmental Control for McCain Foods USA
  • Representative of Labor: Matt Schlobohm, Executive Director of the Maine AFL-CIO
  • Representative of Forest Industry: Patrick Strauch, Executive Director of the Maine Forest Products Council
  • Representative of Maine Youth: Ania Wright, Recent Graduate, College of the Atlantic

The Council is supported by six working groups and two subcommittees. Click the links below to see their members.